## **Draft 01 Programme – As at 14 February 2020**

## CONFERENCE PROGRAMME: THURSDAY 7<sup>TH</sup> MAY/FRIDAY 8<sup>TH</sup> MAY 2020 CONFERENCE VENUE: SOFITEL FLIC EN FLAC MAURITIUS

08.00 09.00	RENCE VENUE: SOFITEL FLIC EN FLAC MAURITIUS
08.00 09.00	Registration
00.00 10.00	On anting Course and
09.00 – 10.00	Opening Ceremony
	Welcome address: Rajesh Ramloll, Conference Chairman
	Address: Murray Clayson, President-Elect, IFA Central (Freshfields
	London)
	Keynote address: Professor Robert J. Danon, Professor of
	International Tax Law, University of Lausanne, Switzerland
	Address: Hon. Mahen Seeruttun, Minister of Financial Services and
	Good Governance, Mauritius (tbc)
	Vote of Thanks: Professor Roy Rohatgi (India)
10.00 – 10.30	Tea/Coffee
10.30 - 11.00	Melissa De Jong (OECD) tbc
	Overview of key elements of Pillar One and Pillar Two
11.00 - 12.30	First Technical Session
	Panel on: New Taxing Rights: Nexus and Tax Treaty Implications
	(Pillar One)
	Session Chairman: Prof. Robert J. Danon (Switzerland)
	Speakers: Melissa De Jong (OECD), Dr. Octavia Weidmann
	(Switzerland), Jeffrey Owens, Mauritian speaker to be confirmed
12.30 - 14.00	Lunch
14.00- 15.00	YIN MOOT
	Chaired by : Prof Daniel Erasmus (USA)
	Subject: to be confirmed
15.00 – 15.30	Tea/Coffee
15.30 – 17.30	Second Technical Session
	Topic: Pillar Two - Minimum tax based on proposed global anti-
	base erosion tax (withholding taxes)
	The 12.5% minimum tax: does it spell the end of structuring?
	Session Chairman:
	Speakers: Melissa De Jong (OECD), Ridha Hamzaoui (IBFD), Prof
	Michael KobetskyBelema Ubuoforibo (IBFD), Prof. Clémence
	Garcia (Associate Professor, Gakushuin University, Japan)
	Gaicia (Associate Fibressor, Gakusilulli Giliversity, Japan)

	1	T
	17.30 – 18.30	Private wealth
		Chairman: Ashvin Krishna Dwarka
		Speakers: Assad Abdullatif (AXIS), Oktavia Weidmann, Johanne
		Hague
		[AKD to speak with Antoine Darioli about sponsorship and a speaker]
	18.00 – 19.00	Cocktails
	19.00 – 22.00	Cocktails and Dinner
Friday	09.00 -09.30	Third Technical Session
8 May		Presentation: The future of tax treaties
		Speaker: -Prof. Robert J Danon (Switzerland)
	09.30 - 10.30	Panel discussion: The future of tax treaties
		Session Chairman: Gary Gowrea (iQeQ)
		Speakers: Ridha Hamzaoui, Grace Perez Navarro, Robert J Danon,
		Melissa De Jong (OECD) Professor Hatting (University of Cape
		Town), Professor Kwatra (Jawaharlall Nehru University)
	10.30 - 11.00	Tea/Coffee
	11.00 – 12.30	Fourth Technical Session
		Topic: Improving MAP: resolution of tax disputes
		Chairman: Professor Jeffrey Owens
		Speakers: Chris Chowdharry, Renier van Rensburg, Prof Daniel
		Erasmus, Annette Oguttu
	12.30 – 14.00	Lunch
	14.00 – 15.30	Fifth technical session
<u> </u>	1	

	Topic: Transfer pricing
	Speakers: Hariom Jindal, Joel Cooper, Prof. Michael Kobetsky, Gary Gowrea, Mario Hannelas
15.30 – 16.00	Tea/Coffee
16.00 – 17.30	Sixth Technical Session Topic: Fiscal structuring of investments into Africa Chairman: Sushil Khushiram Speakers: Cathie Hannelas (Rogers Capital), Dr. Rama Sithanen, Jeremy Cape, Prof. Jason Sharman (Cambridge, UK)
17.30 – 18.00	Chairman's Comments
19.00 – 20.30	Cocktails